Online Help > Commands > Administration > Management > Users

Permissions

Description

 

The Permissions section allows you to assign permissions. Controls are sometimes hidden depending on the data source or the state of other controls.

 

Settings

 

Permissions

 

The options directly above the grid are for public folders, meaning any folder that hasn't been assigned a security group will be assigned those rights. They also act as the most basic permission you can assign because they are needed in order to allow permissions for each of the security group listed below, when they are not checked the corresponding column of the grid is grayed out.

 

The public Add permission also displays the Deny add entry in root folder. This folder is named Sessions in your tree view and is in fact virtual, we created this option so you could control which users could create entries at the root.

 

User Management - Permissions

User Management - Permissions

 

Option

Description

Add

Grant the Add privileges for public groups. Also controls the visibility of the Add column in the Groups grid. The Add privilege needs to be checked if the user needs to add sessions in the Private Vault.

Edit

Grant the Edit privileges for public groups. Also controls the visibility of the Edit column in the Groups grid. The Edit privilege needs to be checked if the user needs to edit sessions in the Private Vault.

Delete

Grant the Delete privilege for public groups. Also controls the visibility of the Delete column in the Groups grid. The Delete privilege need to be check if the user need to delete sessions in the Private Vault.

 

 

ShieldWarning48x48

For higher security, it is a best practice to set security groups on all root level folders. This ensures that there are no public folders and that you have good control over the activity in your system.

 

All security groups are listed in the grid and you can assign permission using the corresponding columns.

 

ShieldWarning48x48

Granting the View permission does allow the right to also launch/open sessions of that group.

 

Option

Description

View

Allows the user to View AND USE the entries for that security group.

Add

Allows the user to Add entries in groups/folders for that security group.

Edit

Allows the user to Edit the entries for that security group.

Delete

Allows the user to Delete the entries for that security group.